What is Navratri?

Navratri literally means nine nights. During Navratri, we invoke the energy aspect of God in the form of the universal mother, commonly referred to as Durga, which translates to the remover of miseries of life. She is also referred to as Devi (goddess) or Shakti (energy or power). The festival is celebrated with great reverence and faith across the country. It stretches over a period of nine days, with each of the nine days being dedicated to one of the nine forms of the Goddess.

Nine forms of Durga:

Day 1 of Navratri: Mata Shailputri

Day 2 of Navratri: Mata Brahmacharini

Day 3 of Navratri: Mata Chadraghanta

Day 4 of Navratri: Mata Kushmanda

Day 5 of Navratri: Skanda Mata

Day 6 of Navratri: Mata Katyayani

Day 7 of Navratri: Mata Kalratri

Day 8 of Navratri: Mata Maha Gauri

Day 9 of Navratri: Mata Siddhidatri